Home > Who Are We > Mary Fran Myers Award

Mary Fran Myers

Gender and Disaster Award 2019

Submissions deadline: 8 March 2019

Mary Fran Myers

Deadline: 8 March 2019


The Gender and Disaster Network and the Natural Hazards Center invite nominations of women and men, or gender and disaster-focused organizations who should be recognized for their efforts to advance gender-sensitive policy, practice, or research in the areas of disaster risk reduction. The Mary Fran Myers Gender and Disaster Award recognizes disaster professionals who continue Mary Fran Myers’ goal of promoting research on gender issues in disasters and emergency management.

As co-director of the Natural Hazards Center, Myers recognized that disaster vulnerability is influenced by social, cultural, and economic structures that marginalize women and girls. The Natural Hazards Center and the Gender and Disaster Network established the award in 2002 to honor women and men whose advocacy, research, or management efforts have had a lasting, positive impact on reducing disaster vulnerability.

Individuals eligible for the award will have added to the body of knowledge on gender and disasters or furthered opportunities for women to succeed in the field. Recognizing that women and men rarely act alone, the award is also now open to gender and disaster-focused organizations which have made similar contributions.

Eligibility and Nomination

Nominations of individuals and disaster-focused organizations that have advanced gender-sensitive policy, practice, or research in the areas of disaster risk reduction will be accepted.

The selection committee is especially interested in nominations from outside the United States. Previously nominated individuals who have not won the Mary Fran Myers award are still eligible.

Award winners are invited to participate in the Workshop and will be acknowledged in the Workshop program. The winner is also invited to serve on the Mary Fran Myers Gender and Disaster Award selection committee.

The nomination period is now open.

To make a nomination, tell us how a single nominee's work has furthered knowledge, created opportunities, or otherwise had a lasting impact in the field of gender-related disaster risk reduction.

The nomination form will require the following information:

· Your full name, mailing and e-mail addresses, telephone number, and those of the nominee

· The nominee’s current resume or curriculum vitae (three-page maximum)

· A nomination statement detailing specifically how the nominee’s work fits the award criteria described above

· An optional one-page letter of support from another person or organization

Submit a Nomination Now!

Self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations in English are preferred, however nominations in other languages may be accommodated. Please contact the selection committee before submitting an nomination in a language other than English.


BY MARCH 08, 2019 please submit these materials electronically through this link: https://hazards.colorado.edu/awards/myers-award/application

Our thanks in advance for passing this notice along so that we may recognize people and organizations in varied sectors, regions, networks and contexts whose work on gender equality and disaster risk reduction should be recognized.

Questions Please contact Cheney Shreve [cmshreve@gmail.com] or Maureen Fordham [m.fordham@ucl.ac.uk]


Who is Mary Fran Myers?

Mary Fran Myers served as the co-director of the Natural Hazards Research and Applications Information Center at the University of Colorado for 16 years until her untimely death in 2004. Read more

List of award recipients

The Mary Fran Myers Scholarship

The Mary Fran Myers Scholarship provides financial support to recipients to attend and participate in the Hazards Research and Applications Workshop in Boulder, Colorado to further their research or community work and careers. This scholarship covers all or part of the costs of transportation, hotel accommodations, meals, and workshop registration fees. Please click here or visit the Natural Hazards Center website for further details.